- Coastal South Law
Driving Without Insurance: What are the Penalties in North Carolina?
North Carolina requires liability insurance for all drivers. The minimum coverage is $30,000 for the injury or death of one person, $60,000 for the injury or death of two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage.
Some drivers may choose to buy more coverage than the state minimum. For example, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects you if you are in an accident with a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover your costs.
You must carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will face a fine and a possible suspension of your driver's license.
What are the Possible Fines for Driving Without Insurance in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, the possible fines for driving without insurance are $50 for a first offense, $100 for a second offense, and $150 for a third or subsequent offense. These fines are in addition to any other penalties that may be imposed. These fines may increase if there have been additional violations or accidents.
There is also a license reinstatement fee that has to be paid to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV).
How Long Can Your License be Suspended Driving Without Insurance in North Carolina?
If you are caught driving without insurance for the first time, your license will be suspended for 30 days and you will be on probation for anything between one and 45 days. This means that if you violate any terms of your probation, you may be subject to stiffer penalties.
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without Insurance in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, you can go to jail for driving without insurance. Just as with a first-time offense, if you are caught driving without insurance, your registration will be suspended for 30 days. However, for subsequent infractions, you may also have to serve jail time for one to 45 days. This is in addition to any other penalties that may be imposed, such as a heavier fine.
How to Avoid Penalties if You are Caught Driving Without Insurance in North Carolina
If you have been caught driving without insurance in North Carolina, there is one thing you can do to avoid getting penalized – contact our law firm for help. We can work with you to create a plan that will minimize the penalties you face. In some cases, we may be able to help you get your license back. We will also work to make sure that your insurance rates do not increase drastically.
For example, we can help prove that while you have been caught driving without insurance, you had insurance at the time. It simply was not with you at the time. In this case, we can help fight these penalties. In other instances, we may help you apply for a hardship license. This restores most of your driving privileges legally in North Carolina, even if you were cited for not having car insurance.
Remember, do not try to navigate the court system on your own. The process can be confusing and stressful, so it is important to get an experienced traffic ticket lawyer on your side.