- Coastal South Law
DWIs in North Carolina
If you have been charged with a DWI in North Carolina, you may be feeling overwhelmed. You are likely being inundated with advice from friends and family, and you may be unsure what to do or how to proceed. It is important to understand that DWIs in North Carolina can have serious consequences, including up to 36 months in prison and a $10,000 fine for aggravated offenses. For this reason, it is necessary to be calculated and conscious in your approach, and not to leave the outcome up to chance. Below, we will go over some general things that you should do and avoid when dealing with a DWI charge in North Carolina.
Things to Do When Facing a North Carolina DWI Charge
While every case is different, the following are generally helpful guidelines for those combatting DWI charges.
Do contact a criminal defense lawyer. This should be the first thing you do. A criminal defense attorney can review the facts of your case in order to determine whether there are any bases for dismissal. They may also be able to help negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecution so that you are able to plead guilty or no contest to a less serious offense, or avoid prison time. If your charges proceed to trial, your attorney can develop a strong defense, and challenge the evidence against you to increase your chances of a non-guilty verdict.
Do start making positive changes. Beginning to attend a substance abuse treatment program or Alcoholics Anonymous meetings soon after the charges are made can make a positive impact at trial as it demonstrates to the prosecution that you are committed to changing and that an incident like this is unlikely to happen again. Doing community service voluntarily can also help demonstrate that you are committed to making positive changes and being an upstanding member of the community.
Things Not to Do When Facing a North Carolina DWI Charge
Do not admit guilt. Some defendants think that if they are “honest” or tell the officers or prosecution what they want to hear that it will somehow benefit them, but this will only work to your detriment. The only time you should plead guilty is in exchange for a well-negotiated plea bargain.
Do not get any more charges. If you get in more criminal trouble leading up to your trial, your chances at a plea bargain or dismissal may go out the window, particularly if your additional charges are related to drinking or substance abuse, as well. It is best to avoid drinking and any kind of activity that could get you into additional trouble leading up to your trial.
Do not trust the judicial system to do the work for you. It is important to understand that the criminal justice system does not work to the benefit of the accused. You have to be proactive and advocate for yourself, with the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney if possible.
Schedule a Consultation With Coastal South Law
If you are facing charges for DWI in North Carolina, contact the experienced North Carolina criminal defense attorneys at Coastal South Law. We will fight to get your charges dropped. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.