- Coastal South Law
Speeding to Elude Arrest Charges in North Carolina
If you live in North Carolina, you may or may not have heard of the “Run and You’re Done” Law. This law was enacted in 2010, and makes it a misdemeanor or felony offense to continue driving when police attempt to pull you over. The law dictates that as soon as an officer flashes their lights and turns on their sirens, you should move to the shoulder and pull over as soon as it is reasonably safe to do so. If instead you continue driving or attempt to flee, you can be charged with speeding to elude arrest. As noted, this charge can be either a misdemeanor or a felony, and can carry significant penalties. If you are facing speeding to elude arrest charges in North Carolina, it is important to consult with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to see if the charges can be dropped or reduced.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony Speeding to Elude Arrest Charges in North Carolina
An individual can be charged with misdemeanor speeding to elude arrest if they attempt to elude arrest by refusing to pull over or continuing to drive after an officer has notified them of their attempt to pull them over. Misdemeanor charges can carry penalties of up to 120 days in jail, a fine in an amount determined by the judge, and a license suspension of one year. The exact penalties will depend on the discretion of the judge, as well as other factors such as your past criminal history and the circumstances of the incident.
Speeding to elude arrest can also be charged as a Class H felony. Felony speeding to elude arrest is the same as misdemeanor speeding to elude arrest except that there must be at least two aggravating factors present. There are a long list of factors that can potentially be aggravating, which includes things like going 15 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit, driving while under the influence, reckless or negligent driving, or having a child in the vehicle with you. Felony charges for this offense can carry a penalty of up to 39 months in prison, a fine determined by the judge, and a license suspension of two or more years.
Speeding to elude arrest is generally charged in addition to other crimes. If there are more than two aggravating factors present, this may extend the amount of time that you are sentenced to spend in prison and that your license is suspended. A lawyer may be able to get your charges reduced to a misdemeanor depending on the circumstances of your case.
Contact Coastal South Law
If you are facing speeding to elude arrest charges or other driving-related criminal charges in North Carolina, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Coastal South Law are ready to go to bat for you. We will fight to have your charges dropped or reduced. It is possible to have a felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor, but likely only with a dedicated legal advocate on your side. Contact Coastal South Law, located in Bolivia, North Carolina, today, to schedule your consultation.