What Happens if You Drive With Cocaine in North Carolina?
North Carolina residents must be careful about the contents of their vehicles. A traffic offense can become much worse when police discover something illegal in your car, whether that illegal item is a firearm, a stolen good, or some kind of drug. If you are caught with cocaine in your car while driving in the Tar Heel State, you can expect serious consequences. But how bad can these consequences really be?
Woman Faces Numerous Charges After Speeding With Cocaine
On September 5, 2023, it was reported that a woman from Halifax County had been charged with numerous criminal offenses after allegedly leading police on a chase throughout Roanoke Rapids. The incident seems to have begun at approximately 9 PM on September 4 when the defendant was spotted making some kind of “safe moving violation.” The police then came to the conclusion that the defendant had fake license tags.
Initially, the police say that the defendant came to a stop in a parking lot. During questioning, the suspect apparently gave a fake name. At some point during this questioning, the defendant fled the scene and left police behind in the parking lot. This apparently led to a chase that reached speeds of 100 miles per hour. After reaching a distance of three miles from the parking lot, the driver seems to have stopped in nearby Weldon.
At this point, police searched her vehicle and recovered a number of items. These apparently included a quantity of cocaine, containers of alcohol, and unspecified drug paraphernalia. The vehicle was then seized, as it had been involved in a felony offense. Finally, the woman was arrested and held on a $5,000 bond. She was eventually charged with felony flee to elude with a motor vehicle, felony possession of cocaine, possession of drug paraphernalia, driving with a revoked license, reckless driving, and possession of an open alcoholic beverage.
Penalties for Driving With Cocaine
As you can see, merely driving with cocaine in your vehicle is enough to cause significant jail time. In North Carolina, possession of any amount of cocaine is a Class I felony, which could lead to six months to one year in jail. This may be combined with other traffic offenses, such as reckless driving (a class 2 misdemeanor).
Do Not Consent to a Search
One of the most important things to remember is that you are under no obligation to consent to a vehicle search. Police are only allowed to search your vehicle under certain circumstances.
Where Can I Find an Experienced Defense Attorney in North Carolina?
If you have been searching for a qualified defense attorney in North Carolina, look no further than Coastal South Law. Over the years, we have helped numerous defendants in the Tar Heel State, including those facing speeding offenses, drug possession charges, or a mixture of both. The best way to react to these charges is quickly and effectively – so book your consultation today to determine the most appropriate defense strategy.