Are You Facing Reckless Driving Charges in North Carolina?
If you have been charged with reckless driving in North Carolina, you may think this is just like any other driving infraction or speeding ticket. However, it is important to understand that in North Carolina reckless driving is a criminal offense. Reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor, and can result in fines up to $1,000, up to 60 days in jail, and having points added to your license. If convicted, it will also result in the creation of a criminal record. For all of these reasons, it is important that you not take these charges lightly, and do everything in your power to fight them. Your best chance at fighting the charges is right after you are charged, by hiring an experienced attorney. They will fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed and can help you avoid many of these serious penalties.
Why Was I Charged With Reckless Driving?
Many people assume that reckless driving is synonymous with erratic driving, but that does not have to be the case. You can be charged with reckless driving for driving carelessly or without considering the safety of other drivers on the road. You may also be charged with reckless driving for operating your vehicle in a manner that is likely to endanger other people or property. However, North Carolina law also permits officers to charge drivers with reckless driving for speeding in certain circumstances.
For instance, if you are driving 15 miles or more over the speed limit in a 55 mile per hour zone, you can be charged with reckless driving, as it is seen to fall into the second category of offenses; driving without care such that you are likely to harm other persons or property. Additionally, if the speed limit is under 70 miles per hour and you are driving at 75 miles per hour or more (for example, driving 75 in a 65 mph area) you can be charged with reckless driving.
If you are unsure why you were charged with reckless driving, it is important to understand what the officers’ basis was when charging you so that you can effectively defend against their allegations in court. An experienced North Carolina criminal defense attorney can help you present the best possible argument for your case, and often will be able to have the charges against you dismissed or reduced to a civil (as opposed to criminal) violation which carries much lighter and less serious penalties. In many cases, you may even have a defense that helps you avoid the reckless driving charge or which would help it be reduced to a civil offense. You cannot know what you do not know, so do not assume that the deck is stacked against you and that the outcome is already predetermined.
Contact Coastal South Law
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Southeastern North Carolina, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Coastal South Law in Bolivia, North Carolina, are ready to fight to get your charges dropped or reduced. Contact Coastal South Law today to schedule your consultation.