- Coastal South Law
Distracted Driving Charges in North Carolina
Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of accidents in North Carolina, and nationwide. For this reason, many states have passed legislation to crack down on distracted driving. Distracted driving is a form of negligent driving, so it is illegal. In North Carolina, officers can pull you over for texting, emailing, or using the phone while driving. Additionally, distracted driving may result in other offenses, such as reckless driving, speeding, and may even result in accidents and injuries. If you are facing charges for distracted driving or related to distracted driving, a lawyer may be able to help.
Charges for Distracted Driving
In North Carolina, law officers can pull you over if they see you texting or using a phone while driving. They can also cite you for distracted driving for this offense, which results in a fine of $25 - $100 in addition to other penalties. Many people do not think twice about paying the fine since it is relatively low, but it is important to understand that by paying the fine you are also admitting guilt for the crime. Pleading guilty to a traffic offense can result in increases to your insurance premium as well as points added to your license, which can have both short- and long-term effects, including license suspension and harsher sentences for driving-related offenses moving forward. For this reason, it is always advisable to fight driving-related charges whenever they are brought against you. Sometimes distracted driving can also result in more serious charges, such as speeding, reckless driving, or other traffic or even criminal violations. There may be defenses to these charges available, and consulting with a lawyer will allow you to determine what defenses are available in your case and how best to move forward.
How a Lawyer Can Help
Sometimes distracted driving is its own charge, and sometimes it results in other or more serious charges. Regardless, it is important to fight the charges brought against you. Some people may not consider a speeding ticket to be a charge, but that is exactly what it is, and when you pay the ticket, you automatically plead guilty. A lawyer can help you by fighting to get the violation or charge against you dropped. In other cases they may be able to have the charges reduced to a less serious traffic violation. The best way to know how a lawyer can help you is to schedule a consultation with one. A lawyer will be able to keep the points off of your license and avoid unnecessary penalties. Do not take traffic violations lightly just because they can be paid off with a fine. Take this as an opportunity to be proactive and stand up for yourself.
Contact Coastal South Law Firm
If you have been charged with distracted driving or another driving-related offense in North Carolina, contact the experienced defense attorneys at Coastal South Law in Bolivia, North Carolina, to schedule a consultation and find out how they can help you get the charges against you dropped or reduced.