Can I Lose My North Carolina Driver’s License for Speeding?
Getting pulled over can be a terrifying experience. You might be sitting there, breaking a sweat and trying to calculate how fast were you going--was it more than 15 miles per hour over the limit? You cannot remember what happens if it is more than 15 miles per hour over, but you are pretty sure it is bad. Will they arrest you? Suspend your license? Take a deep breath, we have got all the answers.
Grounds for North Carolina Driver’s License Suspension
In North Carolina, your license can be suspended for speeding. However, only in certain circumstances. If you were driving over 55 miles per hour and over (note: not equal to, but over) 15 miles per hour, then your license can be suspended for a period of 30 days. Likewise, if you are traveling over (again, not equal to, but over) 80 miles per hour your license can also be suspended for 30 days. If, in addition to one of these speeding offenses, you are also found to have been driving recklessly, then your license can be suspended for a period of 60 days. Finally, if you repeat either of the two speeding offenses within a one year period, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
Reckless driving is a serious offense with even more serious potential implications for you. Reckless driving can result in the immediate suspension of your license. Additionally, it is likely to dramatically increase your insurance rates. In North Carolina, it is not uncommon for someones’ insurance premiums to double for a period of three years following a reckless driving conviction. For many, this makes it prohibitively expensive to own a vehicle or drive, even after their license is no longer suspended. This can have real consequences in terms of their ability to get to work and maintain financial stability. For this reason, if you are facing a reckless driving charge, it is important to do everything you can now to avoid the conviction. An experienced attorney can help you fight your ticket or try a number of methods and avenues to pursue a reduced charge.
Talk to a Lawyer Before You Pay the Ticket
Many people think that the easy and responsible thing to do is simply pay the ticket. They may even think it is illogical to spend more money on a lawyer than they would paying the ticket. However, these beliefs are very short-sighted. In reality, paying a speeding ticket has a lot of costs down the line. North Carolina’s Safe Drivers Incentives Program imposes increases of 80% - 200% in insurance premiums for certain speeding and traffic violations.
It is important to understand that paying a ticket is not avoiding court. Rather, paying a ticket is pleading guilty without even giving yourself the benefit of going to court. Paying a ticket is an acceptance of a guilty conviction and all related consequences, including points on your driving record, suspensions, and increased premiums. You have no say as to the fall out when you pay the ticket. If you instead invest in a lawyer, they can work to negotiate the best possible outcome for you, and, in many cases, can help you avoid suspension and automatic insurance increases.
Talk to a Bolivia, NC Traffic Lawyer
If you have received a North Carolina traffic ticket, or been charged with reckless driving or DWI, the experienced North Carolina Traffic Lawyers at Coastal South Law are ready to zealously advocate on your behalf and fight to ensure you the best possible outcome. Call today to schedule a consultation.