- Coastal South Law
Do Penalties Increase Depending on Your Speed?
North Carolina has many driving laws that can be confusing. One of the most important laws is the speed limit. Depending on your speed, you may face different penalties. Some drivers may be surprised to learn that their penalties increase with their speed above the limit.
What are the Speed Limit Laws in North Carolina?
Speed limits are set by states in order to keep traffic flowing and prevent accidents. North Carolina has a speed limit of 70 mph on most highways, a 55 mph limit on most roads outside incorporated municipalities, and a 35 mph limit on most roads inside incorporated cities.
While these are general, it is often a good idea to look out for speed limit signs to ensure you are not breaking any speeding rules while driving in North Carolina.
Speed Limits: Penalties for Driving Above the Speed Limit in North Carolina?
If you are going over the limit by up to 15 mph in North Carolina, that can be considered an infraction offense. In this instance, you will be asked to pay a fine. Paying this fine would mean you admit guilt, and as such, your infraction will be on the record. This, in most cases, makes your insurance rates go up. If you have been caught speeding more than once in a short period of time, your driver's license might have demerit points added to it.
If you are caught driving 15 mph or more over the speed limit, you may face misdemeanor charges, receive demerit license points, and may even have your driver's license revoked. Depending on whether or not other charges have been filed alongside your speeding offense, you may also face probation or jail time. Keep in mind that any fine or punishment associated with this conviction will also increase your insurance rates.
In the state of North Carolina, if you are driving 25 mph or more over the speed limit, you are considered to be driving recklessly. This is a class 2 misdemeanor. This can result in up to 60 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and driving license suspension or revocation if you are a repeat offender. However, if you have no prior convictions for either reckless driving or speeding, your punishment will likely be probation and a fine. You may also expect your car insurance rates to go up.
What Should You Do if You are Pulled Over for Speeding?
If you are pulled over for speeding in North Carolina, there are a few things you should do:
Remain calm. Do not argue with the officer or try to escape.
Give your driver's license, registration, proof of insurance, and proof of vehicle ownership to the officer.
Do not act threatening to the officer. Do not attempt to display any weaponry to the officer.
Get the ticket from the officer while exercising your right to remain silent.
Contact us right away to start working on ways to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
A Speeding Ticket Lawyer in North Carolina Can Help
If you have been ticketed for speeding or any other reason, speak to a lawyer. Contact Coastal South Law by dialing (910) 253-0411. We are always happy to help.