- Coastal South Law
Five Most Common Traffic Tickets in North Carolina
Every year, law enforcement officers in Southeastern North Carolina issue tens of thousands of traffic tickets. Traffic tickets are more of a hassle than a serious charge for many people. Most people pay for traffic tickets and consider them to be an inconvenience. However, some traffic violations can have a serious negative impact on drivers. If you already have points on your driver's license or face serious fines, speaking to a traffic ticket defense attorney can save you time, money, and stress.
Running a Red Light or Stop Sign
Many drivers have accidentally run through a stop sign or red light. In North Carolina, failure to come to a complete stop, also called a California stop, is unlawful. Turning at a red light without realizing right turns are prohibited at that intersection can also result in a traffic ticket. If you pay the fine, you plead guilty and receive three points on your driver's license.
Speeding tickets are the most common traffic tickets issued by police officers. Fines for traffic tickets usually start at $190, but the fees can increase as the speed increases. Some speeding tickets add two points to your license. Speeding 10 miles per hour over the speed limit when it is 55 miles per hour or speeding in a school or work zone will add three points to your driver's license. Speeding 15 mph over the limit when driving in a 55 mph speed limit zone can result in a suspended driver's license.
Reckless driving is a more serious traffic offense. Reckless driving involves driving a vehicle on a public highway or in any public area "carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others." As you can see, the statute is vague, and many different actions could lead to a law enforcement officer issuing a ticket for reckless driving, including the following:
Failing to yield the right of way
Reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 30 days in jail. Those convicted of reckless driving will also receive four points on their driver's license and could face a suspended driver's license.
Driving with a Suspended License
Driving with a suspended license is also serious. A driver's license can be revoked for many reasons, including having 12 points or more in three years on your driver's license, failure to appear in court, failure to be a traffic ticket, DWI convictions, and other factors. Drivers who are charged with driving with a suspended license face a class three misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $200 and up to 20 days in jail.
Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance
North Carolina drivers are required to carry proof that they have purchased the state's minimum amounts of auto insurance. Failure to do so can result in a $50 fine and $50 license reinstatement charge, up to 45 days of probation, and suspended vehicle registration for 30 days. Subsequent convictions carry harsher penalties.
Discuss Your Case with an Experienced North Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney
Before you pay your traffic ticket and move on, you should discuss your ticket with an experienced defense attorney. Hiring an attorney to fight your traffic ticket is worth it. Contact the experienced Southeastern North Carolina attorneys at Coastal South Law to discuss how we can help you fight your traffic ticket for you and potentially save you money and time.