- Coastal South Law
What Happens if You Miss Your Traffic Court Date in North Carolina?
If you miss your traffic court date in North Carolina, several things will happen. Unlike in some states, attending traffic court in North Carolina is not optional. In most cases, the court will notify you by mail of your missed date and the consequences of not appearing. If you still refuse to appear, without good reason, the court will then proceed to take further action.
What are the Consequences of Missing a Traffic Court Date in North Carolina?
If you miss a traffic court date in North Carolina, you may be subject to fines and penalties. Failing to appear in court can result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Additionally, if you are found guilty of a traffic violation, a default judgment is entered against you, and you may have to pay a fine, attend traffic school, or face other penalties.
What are the Steps to Take if You Miss Your Traffic Court Date?
If you miss your traffic court date in North Carolina, there are specific steps you should take. The first step is to contact the traffic court clerk. They will be able to tell you what to do next. Most of the time, they will be able to help you work out a new date or reschedule your hearing.
You can also try speaking with an attorney if you feel like you are not able to handle your case on your own. This is often the fastest and most efficient way to reduce any penalties, and avoid any further ones in the future.
What is the Deadline to File an Appeal if You Missed Your Traffic Court Date?
If you missed your traffic court date in North Carolina, the deadline to file an appeal is 20 days from the missed court date. After speaking with the traffic court clerk, you can find the date of your traffic court hearing online or by calling the courthouse where your case is scheduled to be heard.
What are the Consequences of Not Appealing?
If you missed a traffic court date in North Carolina and did not appeal the missed date within the 20-day deadline, you will be subject to a $200 late fee. This late fee will be in addition to any other charges relating to your traffic offense.
After the 20-day grace period, the court clerk will also send a notice called “Failure To Appear” to the NCDMV (North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles). The NCDMV will revoke your driver’s license after receiving this notice.
In addition, depending on the nature of your traffic offense(s), the judge may issue a bench warrant for your arrest which could result in possible jail time.
Therefore, it is important to appeal any missed traffic court date as soon as possible to avoid hefty consequences.
You can take immediate action by having a traffic attorney at our firm appeal your missed date. We will help you avoid these consequences and get your case resolved more quickly.